Photonview.Owner null in OnPhotonInstantiate

I've got an interesting issue with the latest version of Photon 2 (updated today from the unity asset store, the trial version since i have a subscription online). Version is 2.19.1, lib 4.1.4.4. This is new as of this update, the version I had at the end of May did not have this issue.

I can load into a game the first time no problem, but when I leave an online room, disconnect photon, go back to the main menu, then create a second room, my main player class reports that the PhotonView.Owner field is null during the OnPhotonInstantiate function (interface implemented). This shouldn't happen, right? Is there some new process I need to follow?

Comments

• emotitron
    emotitron ✭✭✭
    We'll probably need a basic minimal repo of this. I tried to recreate what you are describing with our test scene, and there weren't any issues with disconnecting and starting the startup process over again.

Can you reduce this down to a small project that exhibits the problem that we can look at? @superdupergc
  • Well! I can try, but that will take me some time.

Another thing - do we need to delete the whole photon repo and reinstall for minor revisions, the same way as recommended when going from PUN 1 to 2?

The funny thing is in the full log, I can see the viewID being assigned 1001 as the owner when I turn on the full photon logs, it just seems to be the Photon Player object that is null. And it's definitely already joined the room by this point.
  • emotitron
    emotitron ✭✭✭
    I always delete the folder myself when changing versions, but I am not sure if that is a requirement.

Has the OnJoinedRoom() callback fired then? Where in your code are you making this call from where the Player is null?
  • emotitron
    emotitron ✭✭✭
    I think I am getting your issue now. IPunInstantiateMagicCallback fires ahead of Awake() and is a bit of an oddball because of that. The object hasn't been set up yet, it just being instantiated.