First Server Project

samuelthomson
edited March 2012 in Photon Server
Hello, I've been trying to get to grips with the Photon server using the Unity bootcamp demo to create a webplayer-based game. I have the game working on localhost (one PC, 2 browser windows), but I'm totally stumped when it comes to getting it working over the web, or even over a LAN. There are several points that I'm currently failing on, mostly because I've never tried anything like this before.

1. I'm running the Photon Server v3 from my PC. I can see it in the taskbar. When I try to "Run Testclient", I get an error that says "Receiving Failed, SocketException : Connection Reset". The IP/port listed at the top of the page says "127.0.0.100:4530". I've run a test using "canyouseeme.org" that tells me this port is open. Also, this is a static IP address I set using windows.

2. Some ports don't seem to be open. When I check using "canyouseeme.org", ports 5055 and 3389 aren't open. I've tried changing my Router's virtual servers to forward these ports to the static IP I mentioned, but it doesn't seem to make a difference.

I've turned off my anti-virus software and windows firewall. I really don't know what else to try.

Lastly, I should say that I'm trying to get the "Run Testclient" working because I understand this uses the same mechanism as the Unity webplayer that I'm trying to set up. If the testclient works, then I should be able to use my computer as a server to run the bootcamp demo accross the web. If I have this wrong, please let me know.

Comments

• 127.0.0.xxxx can't be the right IP for an in LAN machine. Thats loopback space.
    Check the machines connection status, it will likely be 192.168.1.x or 192.168.0.x - thats the IP to which you would need to forward it, assuming you have to specify an IP not a machine name (which is even more stable within such an environment)