Server-side collisions in MMO

Options
drawmaster77
edited February 2012 in Photon Server
Hey guys,

I am looking into the best way to handle collisions in my MMO. I would like to have somewhat realist bullet/projectile collisions (like in FPS), except that I am making an MMO. Please dont bash me I am a noob :P

I understand that MMO server probably cant handle same level of collision checking like say in counter strike, therefore I was thinking about doing all expensive collision checks on client.

Since I haven't really seen any MMOs like this, Is this even possible? What are the obstacles I may need to consider (hacking is the one I know off, but this probably is not as important, since I am not making a AAA title :mrgreen: )

Comments

• dreamora
    Options
    Doing collision checks on the client is tricky as it requires that multiple ones do it to be 'sure'

A more common way is using so called 'simulation nodes' on the mmo backend which in its easiest form use the same engine / client as the regular client but in a reduced form, which only knows about the relevant world geometry to perform collision & physics. Potentially you can reuse the same thing for the path finding of AIs too.

A nice side effect is that you can scale far easier because the simulation nodes can run on any machine so they can be distributed over any number of machines depending on your load. Their 'hard part' is to decide which world area you handle on which simulation node etc
  • oh so from MMO sample code perspective, I would need to have a custom peer with "Simulation Node" role which would be placed wherever collisions are happening... and server would get the collision events from my SimNode client and send that stuff to other peers within SimNode's area?
  • but is it possible to have realistic collisions (like counter-strike) with simulation nodes? Or would it lack to death?
  • dreamora
    Options
    Realistic collisions is relatively easy, thats not the problem.