Photon Cloud questions about how to use

Options
anubhab123
edited December 2011 in Photon Server
Hello everyone

I downloaded Photon Unity-Networking Asset after installing Unity. I found some documentation on Photon Cloud however i'm a bit confused. Is Photon Cloud only usable with Unity? I guess I was under the impression that that you could use any Photon Client SDK to connect to Photon Cloud without using Unity at all.

Here are a few questions I had about Client-Server Model for Photon Cloud:

Can you have any control over what the server does with Photon Cloud in terms of your own server-logic?
if not then where would the "game" take place if there were a bunch of clients connecting to Photon Cloud? Based on the previous answer How would the "game" state be synchronized across all Clients?(I am guessing by passing back information between the servers on Photon Cloud and the clients)

I'm a bit new to how Client-Server model works and the details of it however the reason I decided to go Client-Server for my game was because I wanted a central point of synchronization and also a database so I could update the data periodically and also at the same time have users submit data.

I decided to use Photon Cloud for the mobile application I am making however in the Photon Cloud documentation it says that there would be no server-side logic for my application but instead the clients would need to be made authoritative. I was planning on using the server to synchronize the clients game state but since I can't have my own server-side logic does this mean the clients synchronize with each other? Or perhaps one client acts as the synchronization point for the other clients(is the client called a "host" in this case?)?

I apologize if I don't make too much sense I'm really new to anything to do with networking.

Thank you so much!

Comments

• Tobias
    Options