Cloud Servers/On Premise questions

I'm new to Photon and I'm trying to understand the architecture enough to evaluate the options we might take in using it for a product. Currently our game(unity based) is run across a number of servers(rackspace, etc) running our home grown c#/mono server process on medium to large sized linux vms, where 1 process can host a large number of discreet 'worlds'(over 100), which is the closest analog to "rooms" in photon parlance. Our worlds persist data back to the cloud. I'm curious about the multiple options that Photon provides. I wonder if I am perhaps thinking of the photon services as broader than they actually are.

General questions

Are photon services more about matchmaking and not so much server hosting? Or is it both?

To take an extreme example, a heavily server authoritative first person shooter for example would presumably be pretty resource intensive, it probably requires the server loading the map so that it can have access to collision routines, visibility sets, etc. Is Photon Cloud meant for this type of use case? Or would that be a case of OnPremise running on more dedicated hardware?

About Photon Cloud.