TrueSync and Projectiles

Hey there

Projectiles are interesting. I'm still learning truesync, testing out its limitations and advantages. Implementing projectiles seems to be a really good way to put TrueSync to the test.

- Projectiles are rapid moving objects.
- There can be a lot of them active at the same time.
- To be efficient, you need to be able to pool and reuse projectile objects instead of just destroying and reinstating

So, I thought I would go ahead and implement some projectiles in my test scene. My test scene is a 3d scene where players control boxes. The players can hold a button to fire a machine gun. The projectiles should interact with other bodies in the scene.

If my projectiles are Rigidbodies with a sphere collider, things work relatively well. However, this is not a very efficient approach since there can be dozens of projectiles active at the same time.

A better way might be to treat each projectile as a raycast that sweeps through the scene as the projectile flies forward every synced update. This way I don't need dozens of Rigidbodies and sphere colliders. Just some raycasts.

Problem #1:

Raycasts are REALLY inefficient. 10 Raycasts and I loose more than half my FPS on my Pixel XL. Even on Pc, in the editor, the performance is not much better. It is almost unworkable. So if both players fire their machine guns, the game is unplayable.

Problem 2#:

You can't SyncedDestroy an object unless it has a rigidbody attached. This is really limiting. It means I have to attach pointless Rigidbodies on everything.

Problem 2.1#:

I can't attach a rigidbody without a collider. Why? This means, if I want to use SyncedDestroy, I need a rigidbody AND a collider, whether I need it or not.

Problem 2.2#:

There is no way to destroy an object that has a TrueSyncBehaviour on it without using SyncedDestroy.