Load balancing concept

Options
Hi. I'm new in Photon, and I want to understand few basics ideas of it.

let's say, I have one VPS. And I try to start Load Balancing instance by Photon Control.
In documentaion says "Loadbalanced setup for local development: A Master-server and two game-servers."
and config

<Applications Default="Master">		
			<Application
				Name="Master"
				BaseDirectory="LoadBalancing"
				Assembly="Photon.LoadBalancing"
				Type="Photon.LoadBalancing.MasterServer.MasterApplication"
				ForceAutoRestart="true"
				WatchFiles="dll;config"
				ExcludeFiles="log4net.config"
				ApplicationRootDirectory="LoadBalancing"
				>
			</Application>

<Application
				Name="Game"
				BaseDirectory="LoadBalancing"
				Assembly="Photon.LoadBalancing"
				Type="Photon.LoadBalancing.GameServer.GameApplication"
				ForceAutoRestart="true"
				WatchFiles="dll;config"
				ExcludeFiles="log4net.config"
				ApplicationRootDirectory="LoadBalancing"
				SharedDirectory="Plugins">
			</Application>			   

</Applications>
And first question is: where is second game server? Or game-server instances are dynamically genetated?

Ok, next I'm thinking about servers and balancing.
How exacly servers are takes a hardware resource? One instance - one CPU? Thread? Why I need to use load balancing rather than Hive?
For example, I need to create 100 rooms with 50 users each in my real-time (fps) game. Maybe Hive-type will be enough.. I think not. But why?

One more question is: can I run Master and Game servers on different VPS? Is it possible?

Comments

• chvetsov
    Options
    here in config, there is only one game server. we do not create instenses on the fly
    Hive is part of LoadBalancing. it does not have match making. if you need few game servers then defenetely use LoadBalancing
    Server takes haradware resources using multithreading.
    if you are able to connect from one VPS to another, then yes this is possible...
  • DantaliaN
    Options