Step by Step help absolute beginners

Options
maddy
maddy ✭✭
edited August 2010 in DotNet
Hi ...

I've been working on a game using XNA Framework. And i reached a junction where i need multiplayer support.
And im a complete newbie wrt to Networking and stuff....

Please help me in setting up the basic stuff, so that i can integrate the multiplayer support to my game.
I have seen the document section which i ofund in the downloaded SDK folder, as well as online on the exit games forum, also i have seen the videos to start the server and stuff ...... honestly it has not helped me much (no offence) ... as i've mentioned, im a complete newbie wrt to multiplayer stuff., so please bear with my queries below. I would love to compile all this as a tutorial for the newbies like me for the XNA community , if i can gather enough info to start with, so i seek your help in this regard. Now to the queries ....

What currently we are able to do with the current help ...
1. Installed photon .... and using the task bar icon, i've started the server ....

Now, what i need to understand and be able to do is this
1. Setup a server side script in c# ... from within an XNA project ...( its fine if i have to create this part as a seperate dll project, as long as i can reference it from within XNA game )
a. what this script should be able to do is, when ever the client sends a request (client sends a number, and a string). String points to the function() listed in the
    script, and the number is sent as a parameter to that function, the result that comes from the function is sent back to the client. In the current case, i would like to see, the server be able to double the number the client sends.
    Server Side Code
    OnInitialize() { ... }
    OnDestroy() { ... }
    On_Recieved_A_Client_Request(string request, int number )
    {
      if(request == "DoubleTheNumber") {
      requestedClient.SendBackResult( number * 2 );
    } }