Photon server and IPv6

Options
no1no
no1no
edited June 2016 in Photon Server
My update build was rejected by Apple today because the reviewer can't connect to the server and it seems it's because my game / server does not support IPv6. I read the forum and it seems the newer version of Photon server / PUN+ support IPv6. My question is do I have to update the server or do I have to update the client (I'm using PUN+ v.1.51 and the LoadBalancing server as base). If possible I want to update the least number of file the possible because I heavily modified some of the Photon code (like the networkingpeer.cs in PUN+ for example).

A question unrelated to Photon: how can setup an IPv6 environment so I can test it like the guy at Apple does?

Comments

• no1no
    Options
    Sorry I'm not good with networking so the link is still a bit confusing to me.

The link doesn't mention the version of PUN that support IPv6 but I have checked the file Photon3Unity3D.dll in Photon folder and its version is 4.0.0.9, is it good enough?

Since my server don't use IPv6 I have to choose option A and use "Bridged IPv6 to IPv4". Is it correct?

I still have no idea how to test it though.
  • JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Hi @no1no,

We will update the IPv6 documentation with more details soon. Thanks for pointing out that the PUN version supporting IPv6 is not mentioned.
    Since my server don't use IPv6 I have to choose option A and use "Bridged IPv6 to IPv4". Is it correct?
    Yes that should be it.
    I still have no idea how to test it though.
    You can find your answer in Apple's official documentation here.
  • no1no
    Options
    Thanks @JohnTube for your link to Apple doc, I was able to setup the environment to test IPv6. Could you tell me more about "Bridged IPv6 to IPv4" and setting up Photon server to use FQDN or give me a link to a guide to set it up on the server? I tried to search about it but every thing seems vague to me.
  • no1no
    Options