Problem with enemies not syncing and waves

Options
Hi, i'm very new to Bolt, i can't find anything on how i can sync something similar to what i want. Like, right now i have a wave system. Enemies spawn, but they are out of sync.

Example: Enemies spawns, some of them goes to attack the server player, and the others attacks the other player client. But on the server they might all attack him, and the client might see the enemies attack the client and some the server player. I did make a state and attach a bolt entity component.

Also i can't figure a way to replicate what wave is on. Right now the issue with that is, on the server the wave might be 2 of 2 and the client 1 of 2

Comments

• Manmax75
    Options
    I would say the best thing to do is make some sort of singleton class that handles things like syncing what wave you're on and other critical game elements. As for the individual AI units, what do you do to determine who to target? Is it deterministic? It might be easier to sync over a transform, and this can be the AI's "target" for which it will attack on all clients.
  • stanchion
    Options
    It doesn't sound like you're networking any properties, so nothing is going to be synced. Start here and work your way through http://doc.photonengine.com/en/bolt/current/getting-started/bolt-101-getting-started
  • So to sync what wave you're on, i have to add a property to the playerstate called wave or something like that? Is that how it works? :-) Or is there better way? The WaveManager is a singleton, but not sure how i can sync the variables
  • stanchion
    Options
    No, to make it work properly you will need to have WaveManager only run on the host and spawn enemies with Bolt Entities that have their transform and anything else important synced in the entity's state.
  • Sorry if i keep repeating my self, but if the WaveManager only run on the host, how does the other players know which wave they're on? Should i make a pastebin of the WaveManager?