Need to shoot in front of player in order to hit the hitbox

Hey all,

I am a developer on the game TheColony (www.thecolonygame.com) and we just had our first 10 person test session. Everything went really well and everyone had a good time. However, we had some hit detection issues. In short, you had to shoot in front of the player in order to hit the player.

We followed the SgtBolt tutorial around authoritative hitboxes. If I understand everything correctly, when the Client fires his/her weapon, that Fire=True is sent with the next PlayerCommand. When that PlayerCommand is executed on the server it calls the hitbox logic on the server as a coroutine and then sets State.Fire trigger (this trigger tells all the clients to execute the hit logic for that particular player) . The client hit logic is purely for effects/animations, while the server hitbox logic determines if the shooting player really did hit another player. The problem is that even though the client and server are executing similar raycasts, I need to shoot in front of the player in order for the server raycast to register the hit.

What this is telling me is the what the client is seeing is lagging what is actually occurring on the server by ~.2 seconds. That ~.2 seconds delays means I need to lead the player on the client to actually hit the player on the server.

I have tested on the latest release build of Bolt and still see the issue. Let me know if you have suggestions for debug.

Comments

• If you use Bolt raycasts and Bolt hitboxes, then the shots will be lag compensated. See here for more on that https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Source_Multiplayer_Networking#Lag_compensation

When I try the tutorial I dont run into the problem you're describing. You may have some problem with your hitbox, client side prediction, or something else.
  • Okay, I will go back to the original tutorial and re-test it out there. If it works then it must be something piece of code I added. Thanks.