Protecting my application from race conditions

Options
jaja1
jaja1
edited December 2014 in Photon Server
Right now I am battling with a very confusing problem on my server. I have integrated a physics engine and I believe photon server is causing race conditions when I try to manipulate my spaces and the objects within them, though I am not 100% certain of this.

I am quite new to the concept of a multithreaded coding and I have never had this problem until now. How can I determine for sure that my application is being affected by a race condition and not a logical error in my code, and if it is a race condition how can I prevent them at various stages of execution in my code (ie. where exactly should I be using volatile statements or locks/memory barriers?). Is there any detailed documentation that relates specifically to photon server sdk and preventing this sort of thing from happening?

Thanks in advance for any help :)

Comments

• chvetsov
    Options
    Hi, jaja1
    As you understand this forum is not about multithreaded coding. And it is imposible in one or to replies explain everything about it. so i leave this task for you. you should take right book or find something in internet about it.

Here in Photon we did as much as possible to simplify things. How do we do this?
    1. you may use PhotonPeer methods from any thread.
    2. all notifications from PhotonPeer are executed in one fiber (read about this below)
    3. all task in room executed in one fiber.
    4. Peers send messages to room's fibers in order to protect data from multithreading issues