PhotonView & RPC Best Practices

Options
justinl604
justinl604 ✭✭
I'm relatively new to photon and network programming in general and have what I think is a fairly basic question about coding something one way or another.

In my multiplayer online shooter I have weapon pickups. If a player picks up a weapon by running over it, it will respawn after 20 seconds. What I'd like to know is what is the best approach to implementing this.

1. Put a photon view on every weapon pickup and then send an RPC when the pickup is available or not.
2. Have one managing Gameobject with a photon view on it, and this manager sends and receives the information about each weapon pickup.

In summary, I'm just curious if having multiple PhotonViews is better or worse than having 1 PhotonView managing multiple objects. Are PhotonViews expensive to add into the scene, even if their observed object isn't doing much?

Thanks!

ps - Is there any sort of "Best Practices" documentation available anywhere to read over? I've read all the documentation on Exit Games and the only other documentation I can see is the PDF + Examples on the asset store but it has poor reviews.

Comments

• Tobias
    Options
    We don't have a best practice for "pickup" at the moment, I'm sorry. There are so many different use cases and situations. We would have a hard time covering each.
    But yes, we want to do more!

About your questions:
    You should use RPC for pickup.
    The Master Client should keep track of all pickup items and spawn them.
    If they have specific places in the level, you can identify them without PhotonViews. Just index them automatically in the Editor, so you can reference them with some id at runtime.