Problems to instantiate an object just once

Hi,
I am quite new to Photon and I encountered a problem when I only want an instance to be created once. I have this scenario:
- Players that connect to a room and play together.
- A map that divides in segments and that generates them in a random order for each game.

The thing is that I try to instantiate the map once using Tags, but it seems that every player creates its own map. Here is the code that has every player once they join a room:

[code2=csharp]void OnJoinedRoom ()
{
Vector3 aux = new Vector3 (-9.7f, 0.7f, 0.0f);
if (map == null) {
GameObject mapObj = GameObject.FindWithTag ("map");
if (mapObj == null) { //If the map hasn't been created yet, we do

mapObj = PhotonNetwork.Instantiate("MapManager", Vector3.zero, Quaternion.identity, 0);
}
map = (controlMap)mapObj.GetComponent ("controlMap");
}
//add the first two segments types
actSeg = Instantiate (GetNextFragment(0), new Vector3 (0, 0, 0), Quaternion.identity);
nextSeg = Instantiate (GetNextFragment(1), new Vector3 (20, 0, 0), Quaternion.identity);
}[/code2]

Am I forgetting something? Is there another way to do this?

Comments

• Unfortunately the OnJoinedRoom callback is done before all of the Instantiate-requests are done.
    That explains why you can't access a dynamically, player-instantiated GO in OnJoinedRoom.

You can either use a GO in the scene, to sync values to everyone or implement OnPhotonInstantiate() and in that, check if the map is already there.

You can also check for PhotonNetwork.isMasterClient. If so and the map is not existing, then you should create it. Otherwise, the MasterClient should do this anytime soon (maybe just did).
  • Hi tobias and thank you for your answer.
    I used the isMasterClient variable to create the map once a player has been created. The map creates successfully, but when a client tries to look after a map I am not certain what exactly happens: