[SOLVED]How to get target for RPC

Hello everybody!

I'm a complete noob at photon and I've been having a problem of correctly selecting the object that i shot to later use in an RPC, as it doesn't want to convert viewID into PhotonPlayer ID:

Thank you in advance!

[code2=csharp]void Update()
{
if(Input.GetMouseButtonDown(0))
{
if(GameObject.FindGameObjectWithTag(tagOfController).GetComponent<PlayerMatchSettings>().team == "predator") //if we're the predators
{
//DEBUG
Debug.Log("Clicked");

RaycastHit hit;

Vector3 fwd = transform.TransformDirection(Vector3.forward) * 20;

Vector3 forward = transform.TransformDirection(Vector3.forward) * 20;

Debug.DrawRay(transform.position, forward, Color.green);

if (Physics.Raycast(transform.position, fwd, out hit))
{

//DEBUG

Debug.Log("Hit");

Debug.Log(hit.rigidbody.gameObject.GetInstanceID());

//find the target id
int target = hit.rigidbody.gameObject.GetComponent<PhotonView>().viewID;
//find the corresponding photonplayer
PhotonPlayer target2 = PhotonPlayer.Find(target);
//send the rpc to the
Debug.Log(target);
Debug.Log(target2);

photonView.RPC("Shoot", target2);

}

}
}
}

//send info of being shot to client
[RPC]
void Shoot(PhotonMessageInfo info)
{
Debug.Log("Shot");

//don't check for yourself
if (!photonView.isMine)
{
//if i'm a hider
if(GameObject.FindGameObjectWithTag(tagOfController).GetComponent<PlayerMatchSettings>().team == "hider")
{
//it means that i'm marked and that i will die
PhotonNetwork.Destroy(photonView);
}
}
}

}[/code2]

Comments

• your shoot RPC is missing the first parameter of type PhotonPlayer target basing on the parameters you send

it should look like
    void Shoot(PhotonPlayer target, PhotonMessageInfo info)

• Thank you very much! This has solved a bug that i haven't even met yet.

The problem right now is the part where it has to find the correct PhotonPlayer, with info gained only from the physics.raycast.