PvP Collision Based Multiplayer

Options
Hi folks,

I'm fairly new to network programming, and especially PUN having only downloaded it a couple of days ago. I was hoping to get a little advice as to how I might go about achieving my game mechanic, as from searching around a bit I get the impression this one of those "tricky ones."

The game is a 2D PvP last man standing, where for the sake of simplicity each player is a bouncy circle. The only user input for now is to click around your player to apply a small push. The aim is to collide with other players to bump them out the playable area.

You'll likely anticipate the problem I'm having already. Syncing movement through PUN is lovely and smooth and works for multiple players, but the problem comes in when colliding with others. Sometimes the player we collide with doesn't move at all, sometimes they do but very delayed. From other discussions I understand this to be down to the "ownership" of the RigidBody2Ds on each client.

I'm having a hard time sorting out in my head what my best course of action is, is it simply a case of doing some lag compensation on each object to ensure the RigidBodies are better in-sync? Or will I need to do something more clever like transferring ownership to MasterClient or disabling collisions on non-Masters?

Any help would be much appreciated, apologies if I haven't been clear enough!

Answers

• Hi @Macaroon,

I'm having a hard time sorting out in my head what my best course of action is, is it simply a case of doing some lag compensation on each object to ensure the RigidBodies are better in-sync?

This might already be helpful in terms of synchronization. Since you are already talking about Lag Compensation, I assume that you have already taken a look at the related documentation page, right?

Or will I need to do something more clever like transferring ownership to MasterClient or disabling collisions on non-Masters?