Detect player timeout

Hi there,

Is it possible to detect if a connected player has stopped sending and receiving messages? I'm working on a multiplayer RTS and I want to pause the game if a player has stopped responding. I realize I could use RPCs but this would be quite inefficient and would create unnecessary traffic if I'm correct...?

Thanks

Comments

• I'm not a Photon expert, but i think you can't know without sendind RPC to check .

You can use the master Client to send RPC every X second to specific client (With photon ID) , and wait for a anwser by RPC.

Use logic, imagine you can detect that a player don't move since 10 second. Send to him a RPC and wait for awnser.
    (Sorry for my english ^^ )
  • Hi @SamShiels,

difficult question. When you have frequent movement in your game, you will notice another client's timeout, when the client's character suddenly stops moving around. This would be also possible to detect in code. Also when using the OnPhotonSerializeView function for synchronization, you can also store the timestamp of the last received message which allows you to check if the client is still sending something. However this is not an accurate solution. If the client's character isn't moving around for example, you are not able to say, if he has a timeout or is just not moving. If he isn't moving, OnPhotonSerializeView also won't send new messages.