Photon Unity Client SDK Client to Server Connection

A little back story so hopefully I don't look too dumb!

I am fairly new to Photon and I have been struggling to get a grasp on it for about a month or two now. Originally, I was able to access the API for the SDK's I've downloaded, but for some reason I can't do that at the moment which is only making things more difficult. I just recently figured out how to set up my Photon OnPremise Server and was able to host a chat server on it. Now, I am attempting to host an actual game server using the same idea.

What I've done so far is used the shell of the App From Scratch tutorial to get a server up and running. Now, I am trying to figure out how I can connect my Unity Client to the server that I have running. Next, I am going to try to figure out how to implement my custom game logic on the server side. I've been playing around with the demos Photon includes in the Unity Client SDK, but I have had no success in connecting either the tutorial or my own Unity project to my self hosted server. Can anyone point me in the right direction of a tutorial to connect my Unity client to my self hosted server? Or maybe give a brief Noob Friendly explanation of the process to connect to the server using the Unity Client SDK? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• JohnTube
    JohnTube ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2017
    Hi @Aaron2025,

I think we talked via emails already.

You need to check which Photon Server instance and applications you are running.

For the "An App From Scratch", you created a new server application that doesn't offer any features other than connection and exchanging messages.

To use our Unity Realtime SDK you should run "LoadBalancing" instance which has two applications: Master Server and Game Server. PhotonControl tool should help here. You need to make sure also to set Game Server IP which could be done using PhotonControl as well.